The Amazing Days of Abby Hayes Series

Author: Anne Mazer
Interest Level: 3 - 5
Grade Level Equivalent:  5.1
Lexile Level: 520L
Guided Reading: R

Abby Hayes is an ordinary girl in an extraordinary family. Determined to prove herself worthy to be called "Hayes", she sets out to become a soccer star, even though she has never played before. Abby's determination to succeed is amazing, even if her talent isn't.

I stumbled across the Abby Hayes series while looking for a book to give my daughter for Christmas. I purchased the first 3 and she loved them. She has read several others from the library and enjoyed them all. My recommendation is only based on my having read the first book, but I would suggest it as a more advanced series for middle to upper elementary kids (Abby is a 5th grader). Those who are beyond Junie B. Jones, but not quite to the Early Teen books. There was nothing offensive in the first book, and I would expect that the series follows this pattern.  This was a fun read.


Books to date in the Abby Hayes series:

1.Every Cloud Has A Silver Lining
2.The Declaration of Independence
3.Reach for the Stars!
4.Have Wheels, Will Travel
5.Look Before You Leap!
6.The Pen Is Mightier Than the Sword
7.Two Heads Are Better Than One
8.The More, the Merrier
9.Out of Sight, Out of Mind
10.Everything New Under the Sun
11.Too Close for Comfort
12.Good Things Come in Small Packages
13.Some Things Never Change
14.It's Music to My Ears
15.Now You See It Now You Don't
16.That's the Way the Cookie Crumbles
17.Home is where the Heart is
18.What Goes up Must come Down
19.All that Glitters isn't Gold
20.Sealed with a Kiss-
Super Special #1- The Best is Yet to Come.
Super Special #2- Knowledge Is Power

No comments:

Post a Comment

  © Blogger template Simple n' Sweet by 2009

Back to TOP